Take the 2-minute tour ×
Arqade is a question and answer site for passionate videogamers on all platforms. It's 100% free, no registration required.

If I raze a conquered city its territory returns to neutral ownership. However suppose I have multiple cities clustered together, it is not always possible to know which tiles I will lose when razing a city.

Since I am a relatively peaceful player I have not had the chance to experiment with this game mechanic.

So what are the rules which dictate which tiles belong to a particular city when it is razed?

share|improve this question
    
While I don't have an answer, be aware that in the past I have lost a tile of my own after conquering and then razing a city which was immediately next to that tile. So razing a city seems to be able to remove tiles from you even if another city is actively working them. –  Oak Nov 11 '10 at 3:16
    
I'd assume that borders are simply recalculated based on a city's accumulated culture and the usual rules that govern border growth. This may rejiggle borders a bit, since tile acquisition preference depends on a lot of factors AFAIK. This is all entirely my assumption though. :) –  deceze Nov 11 '10 at 5:24
    
@Oak, this is very interresting. Are you sure that you were still working that tile in your original city and not in the razed one? I always thought that the tile ownership is declared by: 1. tile aquisition by culture or money 2. exchange of worked tiles between your cities. –  Adj Nov 11 '10 at 11:04
    
@Adj no, I cannot be sure. All I know is that I chose the "raze" option immediately. But as cities take at least one turn to get destroyed, it's possible the "governor" AI allocated a citizen on that tile (even though the city was rioting, so not much point there). –  Oak Nov 11 '10 at 11:07
1  
@Adj I went ahead and created a new question for it, although I have a feeling that discovering the answer for it may also give us the answer to this question. –  bwarner Nov 11 '10 at 16:08

1 Answer 1

up vote 6 down vote accepted

So based on Fabian's answer here combined with Oak's experience mentioned in the comments for this question, it sounds like razing a city will cause all tiles that were acquired by that city to become neutral, as well as all tiles in the immediate ring around that city, even if those tiles were not initially acquired by the city being razed (beacuse as Fabian pointed out, building/capturing a city will automatically transfer ownership of tiles in that inner ring that belong to other cities of the same player to the "new" city). Any tiles in the inner ring that do not belong to the player owning the city should not become neutral.

Unfortunately, I am not aware of any way to determine ahead of time which city initially acquired a tile and thus "owns" it for purposes such as this.

share|improve this answer
    
There is an exception to this when claiming land using a Great General's Citidel. Any land claimed and added to one of your neighbouring cities, in the inner ring of a city you conquer and then raze will also become neutral. –  Metalshark Aug 21 '13 at 20:49

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.