Take the 2-minute tour ×
Arqade is a question and answer site for passionate videogamers on all platforms. It's 100% free, no registration required.

How can I get rid of the message that pops up sometimes when starting Call of Duty 4 - Multiplayer?

Your computer appears to have changed since the last time you ran Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare.
Would you like the game to configure itself optimally for your new hardware?

This is recommended for most people.
It will change your system settings but not your controls.

Popup message

I have tried these different solutions, none of them works:

  • Remove the lines corresponding to the message in the C:\Program Files\Activision\Call of Duty 4 - Modern Warfare\localization.txt file: Screenshot of localization.txt file
  • Make the config_mp.cfg file flagged as read-only (it was originally).
  • Make the config_mp.cfg file not flagged as read-only.

I have a sense that this message is linked to the sys_configSum variable located in the config_mp.cfg file, because sometimes this variable is equal to "0", and some other times to "4379996", but I can't figure why it changes.

Any other ideas?

PS: I do not use Steam.
PPS: The config_mp.cfg file is located under C:\Users\[user]\AppData\Local\VirtualStore\Program Files\Activision\Call of Duty 4 - Modern Warfare\players\profiles\[profile] for me.

share|improve this question
3  
I'd recommend uninstalling the game and reinstall it in a different location outside of the Program Files directory. Any program that writes to files in the installation directory will have issues (i.e., will need to be run as administrator) and COD4 definitely writes to it. My guess is that the settings detection isn't detecting the right settings because it either can't run the right privileged instructions to get the right info, or it can't write the settings to the right files. –  Jeff Mercado Mar 23 '13 at 23:44
add comment

1 Answer 1

I had the same issue as you. Every time you join to a server. Do not quit the game using the command "/quit". Instead of this, press ESC -> Disconnect, and to main menu press quit button. Doing this, next time you connect to call of duty 4, you don't see anymore the pop-up. The /quit command is a "forced close" of the game, and causes to appear the pop-up.

Cheers.

share|improve this answer
    
I always do ESC -> Disconnect -> Quit. –  Otiel Oct 18 '13 at 8:43
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.