Take the 2-minute tour ×
Arqade is a question and answer site for passionate videogamers on all platforms. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Which succession law applies to king/duke/count titles held by an emperor? I found this answer that says the emperor title is separate from the duchy/kingdom, but the answer does not elaborate.

(Obviously, the emperor title is inherited based on the succession laws of the empire.)

Edit: I'm looking for an explanation of the general rules that are applied, not how to find the succession law in force for a specific title at a specific instant in time.

Edit 2: As I understand, when your character holds multiple titles, the succession law of your primary title usually "supersedes" the succession laws of other titles. For example

  1. If you hold 1 king title, or your highest title is count or duke, the succession law of your primary title applies to all of your titles.
  2. If you hold multiple king titles (and no emperor title), each king title has its own succession law. (see this answer for more)
  3. What if you hold an emperor title and no king titles?
  4. What if you hold an emperor title and 1 king title?
  5. What if you hold an emperor title and multiple king titles?
share|improve this question
    
I don't understand your question, after you edited it. Are you looking for an explanation of the different succession laws? –  Nix Apr 28 '13 at 6:49
    
I updated my answer. Please have a look, and let me know if I missed something. –  Nix May 1 '13 at 20:23
add comment

1 Answer

Open up your character window, and hover your mouse over your titles. An infobox should now appear, showing you the name of the title, the succession law and the line of succession.

I do not know a way to change the laws other than the one for your primary title, however. :/

EDIT:
Ok, I think I understand now. I believe it the core of the answer is whether or not a title is a de jure vassal to one of your greater titles. The succession law of a title will always be determined by the greatest title you hold in that "realm". If you have titles in other "realms", those will be determined separately.

  • For example, if you are King of Ireland and the Duke of Munster (which is de jure part of Ireland), then the duchy will inherit the succession law of the Kingdom of Ireland.
  • However, if you are also the Duke of East Anglia (de jure part of England), then that duchy will have its own succession laws.
  • If you also hold the title of King of England, then the duchy of East Anglia will inherit its succession laws from England (which are separate from the succession laws of Ireland, even if you hold both titles).
  • Now, if you also happen to be Emperor of Brittania, then I assume all the titles from within that realm inherit the succession laws from your primary title.
  • Should you hold titles which are not de jure part of Brittania (say, King of Poland), then those will have their own laws, and the chain will start over from count to emperor, depending on your greatest title within that "realm".

PS: I know my use of the word 'realm' may be a bit different from the one used in game, but I could not find one that fit. What I mean by "realm", is a collection of titles which are de jure connected under one greater title which you control. I hope my intentions comes across despite this.

share|improve this answer
1  
I don't know either, so I asked a question about setting crown laws here. –  SevenSidedDie Apr 24 '13 at 23:02
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.