Arqade is a question and answer site for passionate videogamers on all platforms. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

When starting a character, there are four difficulty levels:


What changes based on the difficulty chosen? The wiki shows that experience gained changes, but is there anything else?

share|improve this question
up vote 3 down vote accepted

Yes, a lot of things seem to change with difficulty. From a quick look at Easy, compared to my regular runs on Hard (and a few early peeks at Insane):

  • Experience you gain decreases with difficulty.
  • You get more health on level-up on lower difficulties.
  • Your damage decreases with difficulty, enemies' damage increases.
  • Stronger enemies appear sooner and more often on higher difficulties.
  • More map objects (boxes, recharge hubs, stuff like that) spawn on lower difficulties, and new objects seem to appear sooner on lower difficulties.
  • Map objects seem to spawn damaged or ruined less often on lower difficulties.
  • More and rarer items drop more often on lower difficulties.

What does not seem to change:

  • Hunger and food
  • Durability, power, ammo and repair mechanics
  • Traps
  • Status effects
  • Number of charges in hubs and crafting stations
share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.