Take the 2-minute tour ×
Arqade is a question and answer site for passionate videogamers on all platforms. It's 100% free, no registration required.

The TES wiki says this about the 'Summon Durnehviir' shout:

The shout Summon Durnehviir functions as a conjuration spell unlike Call of Valor. Therefore, if there is already a creature summoned, the shout will replace the summoned creature, also, summoning something else while Durnheviir is still active will prematurely end him.

Also, summoning Durnehviir requires you to shout at (target) the ground unlike the other summoning dragon shouts, and like the Conjuration summoning spells.

Based on this, I'm wondering if summoning Durnehviir will also level up Conjuration like I used a Conjuration spell (assuming there are enemies around and I am in combat). Can anyone confirm or deny?

share|improve this question
    
To the downvoter(s): Could you please comment on why you downvoted this question? This is so I (and others) would know what was wrong with it, and so I could address that concern or edit the question to improve it. When downvotes are left without comments and the reasons for doing so are unclear, you'll often see users (like myself) wanting to know the reason why. –  galacticninja Jul 19 '13 at 12:23
1  
Don't see why it was downvoted either. Personally think it is a good question. Hope you get an answer. –  Lyrical Jul 19 '13 at 12:29
1  
Why can you not confirm or deny this? It seems to me this would be a trivial yes/no answer which would be easily verifiable. Note I did not downvote. I +1'd it to offset the downvote. –  ヴァイシャリ Jul 19 '13 at 15:48
    
@One-One Not really that trivial since summoning Durnehviir has a cooldown and it won't be easy to spam that shout. I asked here in case someone already knows about this or has experienced leveling up Conjuration from summoning Durnehviir. –  galacticninja Jul 20 '13 at 1:45
2  
As far as I know no other shout levels a skill (even those which closely mimic a skill ability), so I find it unlikely that this one does. –  Philipp Jul 24 '13 at 23:57
show 6 more comments

1 Answer

up vote 4 down vote accepted

No. Summoning Durnehviir is not a conjuration spell - it simply functions in the same way as one, therefore obeying the same rules. Only casting conjuration spells on valid targets increases the skill.

How I can be so sure - I've got a variety (if I tell you exactly how many, that means admitting how much time I've spent in Tamriel) of high level characters. I've never summoned anyone with most of them, and the only places they have ever earned conjuration skill points has been books. I had a quick check before posting, and summoning Durnehviir didn't change the progress at all on the little bar which tracks progress in a skill.

share|improve this answer
    
I liked the how can I be sure part. I have 5-6 characters myself. +1 –  ヴァイシャリ Aug 24 '13 at 7:23
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.