Take the 2-minute tour ×
Arqade is a question and answer site for passionate videogamers on all platforms. It's 100% free, no registration required.

As as mastermind, you can intimidate enemies.

DOMINATOR

BASIC: You can now intimidate non-special enemies. Less well trained enemies are easier to intimidate.

ACE: The power and range of your intimidation is increased.

In this video (bank heist 100% stealth), a player seems able to intimidate as many guards as he wants, the key point being to start yelling when the red excalamation point appears. But it's not possible to chain intimidations this way anymore (I tried it myself), as it's stated in one of the video's comments:

"This was before they nerfed the ability to 1 guy ever couple of minutes or so I'm afraid."

So it is possible to intimidate another enemy after a certain time ? How long ?

share|improve this question
    
I would assume the cooldown is as long as the pager's after the 2nd answer –  3ventic Aug 19 '13 at 11:00
    
... there's a cooldown after the pager's second answer ? xD –  Anto Aug 19 '13 at 11:17
1  
Not sure, never managed to wait long enough. The 3rd time you answer a pager, it always seems to fail, unless you have Smooth Talker from Mastermind. They might be related. –  3ventic Aug 19 '13 at 13:13
1  
@ColeBusbyakacheat117cole108 these are completely different abilities. –  kotekzot Aug 19 '13 at 18:35
    
@kotekzot you're right my apologies –  Cole Busby Aug 19 '13 at 18:37

2 Answers 2

up vote 1 down vote accepted

The rules for this were changed 5th of March 2014 (emphasis mine):

Every player with the Dominator skill can now dominate one guard each at the same time. But apparently the old pager operators got fired, and more experienced operators are taking over. So clear your throats, and get ready to answer the pager as soon as you dominate a guard.

So one dominated guard or police officer per player with dominator. That means no, you cannot dominate multiple guards at once. You will need a friend to help.

Before this change the rule (which console and unpatched versions might still follow) was one dominated guard or police at a time. Want another one? Kill the existing one.

share|improve this answer
    
Thanks for clarifying. –  Anto May 2 at 16:11

The video you were watching was in the beta of payday2 there you could dominate multiple guards without a problem. But they nerfed the perk, which now only allows 1 guard to be dominated, after 1 guard you will not be able to dominate another unless you kill the dominated guard.

share|improve this answer
    
I would dispute this answer. Yesterday, I ran a complete stealth run of Framing Frame that was based entirely off of one person chain-dominating guards. The first and last day, there were over four guards that ended up cuffing themselves, with no killing involved. There was a bit of a delay between each one, but I do not believe that there is a limit on how many enemies may be dominated. It is possible that this is being confused with the Joker perk, which allows a hostile NPC to be turned ally. –  Confuzzledmaniac Aug 21 '13 at 6:00
    
@Confuzzledmaniac Yeah indeed one after the other, he dominated the first then either cuffed or killed the guard then the next. I am saying that there may only be one guard dominated at a time by one person. –  Lyrion Aug 21 '13 at 6:05
    
Getting a guard to cuff himself is an almost instantaneous action, so unless you are trying to dominate a group of guards at the same time (which doesn't seem like it should work anyways), it matters not. –  Confuzzledmaniac Aug 21 '13 at 6:09
    
@Confuzzledmaniac But he ziptied them afterwards, else it is impossible or buggy. Because cuffing themselves counts towards your one. –  Lyrion Aug 21 '13 at 6:16
2  
The PC version and the Xbox version are not on the same patch release, apparently. Xbox version is unpatched, and you're correct, the Dominator skill is supposed to work as you said. It appears for the time being, the two are out of sync and that's why there is the discrepancy. –  Confuzzledmaniac Aug 21 '13 at 17:02

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.