Arqade is a question and answer site for passionate videogamers on all platforms. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I want to know what are the differences between version X and Y, like pokemons, places, items, megaevolutions, etc.

share|improve this question
up vote 30 down vote

Pokemon Exclusive to Version X

  • Mega Charizard X
  • Mega Mewtwo X
  • Staryu/Starmie
  • Pinsir
  • Houndour/Houndoom
  • Poochyena/Mightyena
  • Aron/Lairon/Aggron
  • Sawk
  • Swirlix/Slurpuff
  • Clauncher/Clawitzer
  • Xerneas

Pokemon Exclusive to Version Y

  • Mega Charizard Y
  • Mega Mewtwo Y
  • Shellder/Cloyster
  • Heracross
  • Larvitar/Pupitar/Tyranitar
  • Electrike/Manectric
  • Purrloin/Liepard
  • Throh
  • Spritzee/Aromatisse
  • Skrelp/Dragalge
  • Yveltal

Source - Serebii

It's also been noted that there are minor story differences:

Without giving away too much, both legendaries do end up having an impact on the story, so it's a matter of preference as to which one you want to see.

Source: Shack News

As always the main thing you should consider when choosing between Pokemon X and Pokemon Y is which version exclusive Pokemon appeal to you the most.

share|improve this answer
wow, +1 for pointing out the story differences also, everything counts, keep editing your answer for more information! – Joe Cabezas Oct 16 '13 at 12:42
I saw too many Throh being used from a lot of npc trainers, sure it is exclusive? – Joe Cabezas Oct 17 '13 at 13:17
@JoeCabezas yup, certain. NPC's aren't bound by version exclusivity as Game Freak aren't trying to make a quick buck through them ;) – shanodin Oct 17 '13 at 17:59
That is very stupid. You get Tyrantiar in Y, but ( I did research) Tyranatarite is in X, and vise versa with Agron – Shadow Z. Dec 1 '13 at 23:15
"As always the main thing you should consider when choosing between Pokemon X and Pokemon Y is which version exclusive Pokemon appeal to you the most." And which versions your friends have. If everybody you know has X, get Y. You can trade all the exclusives from them, and they will all want exclusives from you. – Jonathan Baldwin Feb 13 '14 at 5:59

The main Difference are the 2 main legendaries, Xerneas for X and Yveltal for Y. There are also differnt mega evolutions for certain ones, like Mega Charizard X, Mega Mewtwo X and Mega Tyranitar (to name a few) for only X, while Mega Charizard Y, Mega Mewtwo Y, and Mega Gengar(again, just to name a few) only for Y. Hope this helps. Oh, i have some more. Mega Aggron, Swirlix, Slurpuff can only be found in pokemon X. Spritzee and Aromatisse can only be found on Pokemon Y.

share|improve this answer

protected by Frank Mar 15 '15 at 18:46

Thank you for your interest in this question. Because it has attracted low-quality or spam answers that had to be removed, posting an answer now requires 10 reputation on this site (the association bonus does not count).

Would you like to answer one of these unanswered questions instead?

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.