Arqade is a question and answer site for passionate videogamers on all platforms. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

In Civilization 5, the game states that the AI gets significant bonuses to their play at the higher difficulty levels. I have been unable to find what exactly those bonuses are. I have heard rumors that on Deity, for example, the AI starts with 3 settlers, 6 warriors, and doesn't have a happiness cap at all.

Can anyone clarify with details?

share|improve this question
up vote 3 down vote accepted

There are too many things to list out here, but you can find the answers in the CIV5HandicapInfos.xml file in your \Steam\steamapps\common\sid meier's civilization v\Assets\Gameplay\XML\GameInfo folder. For example, Deity lists that the AI starts with two defensive units (warriors), two workers, and one scout. Another part of that file lists the free techs for you or the AI. On Deity, the AI starts with The Wheel, Mining, Animal Husbandry, and Pottery.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.