Take the 2-minute tour ×
Arqade is a question and answer site for passionate videogamers on all platforms. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Some moves change or add element typings to a Pokemon, such as Soak (changes the Pokémon to pure Water-type), Forest's Curse (Adds Grass-type) and Trick-or-Treat (Adds Ghost Type).

If a Pokemon Mega Evolves after being affected by these moves, will it retain the changes made to it's type?

What about Pokemon like Charizard (X-Mega) or Pinsir, that change type when Mega Evolving? Are they affected differently?

share|improve this question
    
I remember how my Charizard has been soaked (pure-water), then Mega evolved it (X, Fire/Dragon) and after that an enemy ice-typed attack has been normal effective against Charizard. Seems like mega evolving overwrites types. I dont know its handled when Mega doesnt touch types. –  Trollwut Jan 7 at 10:36

1 Answer 1

up vote 1 down vote accepted

No, the Mega Pokemon will have the typing that it should be having just like in a situation where it was not hit with such moves.

If for example Charizard is hit with Soak, then mega evolves into Charizard X, Charizard X will have the typing Fire/Dragon.

Similarly, a Lucario hit with Forest's Curse will have the Fighting/Steel typing after mega evolving.

You can see a test video if you download the following video picturing how Pinsir didn't have its ghost typing after being hit with Trick-or-Treat then mega evolving (hopefully, the video will remain online for a while):

2HCW-WWWW-WWW4-EXEJ

(Shadow Sneak from Pumpkaboo has normal damage on Mega Pinsir instead of Super Effective)

And this one is with Lucario:

JBZG-WWWW-WWW4-EXFW

(Shadow Ball from Pumpkaboo has normal damage on Mega Lucario instead of Super Effective)

Sorry if the Pokemon and trainer names are in Japanese!

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.