Arqade is a question and answer site for passionate videogamers on all platforms. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Can Battlecries that get applied to minions be applied to the minion you just played? , e.g can the Dark Iron Dwarf give itself +2 Attack until the end of the turn?

share|improve this question
up vote 5 down vote accepted

You cannot use a battlecry on the minion that has it, unless it specifically says it does something to itself or can be self-targeted.

share|improve this answer
Just curious, what are some examples where cards do specifically apply a Battlecry to itself? – dlanod Jan 20 '14 at 21:06
@dlanod I think Injured Blademaster is one, can't check right now. – 3ventic Jan 20 '14 at 21:09
Injured Blademaster's battlecry is "Deal 4 damage to HIMSELF". You can't choose any other targets. – jwaddell Jan 22 '14 at 23:11
More generally, minions don't exist on the board until played, and you can't target something not on the board. The flow is: Pick Targets -> Play Minion -> Resolve Battlecry. – Raven Dreamer Jul 15 '14 at 3:37

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.