Arqade is a question and answer site for passionate videogamers on all platforms. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

This question already has an answer here:

The Advanced Edition of FTL includes the ability to man your sensors and door subsystems. Why? What does it accomplish?

share|improve this question

marked as duplicate by BlueRaja - Danny Pflughoeft, fredley Apr 4 '14 at 20:13

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

Note: see meta discussion here about how to deal with FTL: AE questions with existing similar FTL questions. See also this similar question about FTL classic. – Mike Apr 4 '14 at 19:28
up vote 12 down vote accepted

Sensors and Doors can now be manned to allow them to act as if they were upgraded to one level higher than their current status.

Additionally, each system also has a fourth power level now, only reachable by upgrading it to its max of 3 power levels and then manning the system to reach its fourth level.

  • Level 3 Sensors allow you to see enemy weapons charge. (new feature)
  • Level 4 Sensors allow you to see enemy power distribution (previously level 3 did this)

  • Level 4 Doors give you Super Blast Doors. Beyond the obvious implication that these are better than Improved Blast Doors I'm not sure exactly what this means yet.

share|improve this answer
more info as i get it – Ender Apr 3 '14 at 22:21
nice, when did advanced edition come out? – l I Apr 4 '14 at 0:34
@z I believe it was today. – NovaSword Apr 4 '14 at 1:00
Super blast doors get an emblemized S shape on them (not really). – Zibbobz Apr 11 '14 at 16:31

In FTL: Advanced Edition, new manning options were added. Quoting the changelog:

Additional manning options: Doors and sensors can be manned to provide a +1 level boost to the system. Systems redesigned to 4 levels of power instead of the previous 3. Sensors at level 3 show the player the cooldowns of enemy weapons, while sensors at level 4 show the power bars.

share|improve this answer
Duplicating my answer from this question pending discussion, since I couldn't answer while this question was marked duplicate. Note: see meta discussion here for more discussion. – Mike Apr 4 '14 at 19:25

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.