Take the 2-minute tour ×
Arqade is a question and answer site for passionate videogamers on all platforms. It's 100% free, no registration required.

With the v1.0.0.111 patch notes it is mentioned that Tryndamere had a bug where he couldn't use his ult during suppression. This sounded weird to me since I was under the idea that suppression was a stun that you couldn't cleanse out of or use abilities while suppressed. Looking around the Internet I can't seem to find a hard defined rule for when a champion may get out of this or use his ability, some champs can just do it with some abilities but I can't find a complete list. So which champion abilities can be used while suppressed?

share|improve this question
    
Well RIOT confuse me. They introduced surpression for the entire reason of stopping summoners use skills. What was the damn point then, they should have just left it as a stun. :/ Looking into it. –  theorise Feb 16 '11 at 15:22
    
Yeah I'm greatly confused by it to. I read somewhere that there was a few others that could do it so that's why I was wondering. I'd like to try to find the reason for the exceptions. –  The Jug Feb 16 '11 at 15:50

5 Answers 5

up vote 7 down vote accepted

Suppression a stun which you cannot cleanse out of. It is also unaffected by merc treads / any CC reductions, such as Irelia's passive. The only two ways to get out of it are either the caster gets interrupted or you use the active on quicksilver sash.

The suppression acts as a normal stun + locks all summoner spells (flash, cleanse)

The stun part of the suppression stops champions from using active skills (as of 16th Feb 2011), with the exceptions of:

Passive abilities will kick in, such as Anviva's egg.

share|improve this answer
    
But as implied in the patch notes, Tryndamere can apparently use his ult while suppressed. I'm wondering why this seems to be the exception to the rule and if there are other exceptions. –  The Jug Feb 16 '11 at 15:13
    
@The Jug Edited after some research –  theorise Feb 16 '11 at 16:48
    
What about Olaf's ult? –  Katustrawfic Dec 17 '13 at 4:02

While this is the exception, there are ways some champions can cheat and out of suppression, and these are the champions with a built-in teleport, blink, or jump (Ezreal, Trista, Kassadin, to name a few).

Say a Warwick attempts to gank mid, and kill Tristana. If Tristana rocket jumps back to her tower exactly at the same time WW ults her, she will rocket jump away, and Warwick will teleport to where she jumped FROM. Trist will be suppressed, but will be jumping through the air for half the duration, and take no damage from the other half (as WW's attacks require melee range).

Note that of the three champions that have a suppress (Warwick, Malzahar, and Urgot) this is only super-effective against Warwick (as his requires melee range). It is effective against Malzahar if you get out of the range of his ult, and doesn't work against Urgot.

share|improve this answer
    
blinks don't "break out of suppression" and cannot "be used while suppressed", which is what the OP asked in his question. –  user41604 Feb 15 '13 at 19:50

It's important to note that Tryndamere's ult is the exception, not the rule, as it is one of the few (the only?) abilities that can be used during hard CC (Fear, Stun, Taunt, etc. Suppression counts as one of these).

I think it's important to note that Tryndamere's ult won't break the suppression, which will continue for its standard duration, but merely prevent him from dying (as normal). It's the same effect if you're in a regular stun.

In game terms, the only real way to get out of suppression is with the help of another champion -- namely, one with a forced movement ability. Janna's Maelstrom and Gragas' Barrel, as well as a few knockups, like Janna's tornado, will break the suppression.

Alternatively, silencing or otherwise interrupting the suppressor's channel works well too.

share|improve this answer
    
Apparently Scurvy cancels like a QSS. –  theorise Feb 16 '11 at 16:15
    
Good point. Gangplank's "Remove Scurvy" is also designed to be used during hard CC effects. –  Raven Dreamer Feb 16 '11 at 16:19

Anyone can if you buy Quicksilver Sash!

share|improve this answer

You guys have forgot Olaf's ulti :) Poppy's one is also the only skill that can prevent being hit by suppressions.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.