Arqade is a question and answer site for passionate videogamers on all platforms. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Let's suppose that, at the beginning of my turn, Alarm-o-Bot (previously played) is exchanged with a creature in my hand, having an "at the beginning of your turn..." ability. Does the latter ability take place? Or my turn is no longer considered to be "at the beginning"?

As an example, let's suppose that Alarm-o-Bot is exchanged with a Doomsayer. Are all the minions instantly destroied?



Thank you.

share|improve this question
up vote 26 down vote accepted

Short answer is no. I like to reference Magic the Gathering (MTG) in regards to this, because Hearthstone basically uses the stack like MTG, but it's rarely relevant, only with situations like this.

So the explanation for this is that, at the start of your turn, the game checks and queues up all 'start of turn' effects on the battle field, putting them on the stack based on the order the cards entered the battlefield. Then, the game goes through one by one and resolves each of the effects, not checking for any new effects. Then the turn progresses to the next step; drawing a card.

If you think about the situation you describe, if the game was coded like that and if you had an Alarm-o-bot in play, and the only minion in your hand was another Alarm-o-bot, the two Alarm-o-bots would try and infinitely swap with each other, completely breaking the game. So, unfortunately for you, your doomsayer will still take a turn to activate.

See the third answer by the Hearthstone Community Manager HERE for confirmation.

share|improve this answer
+1 for using the stack for clarifying the question. – ChaseC May 19 '14 at 16:41
@ChaseC I'm a Mtg rules advisor, so a lot of that knowledge transfers over well to understanding Hearthstone XD There's a lot of seemingly silly complex interactions. – Waterseas May 19 '14 at 16:42
Are you really? That's really interesting. I don't meet a lot of rule advisers. I learn new interactions all the time, as they are silly, like you say. I.E. - Killing Sylvannas with Cairn, Sylvannas doesn't take control over the 2nd Cairn that spawns when he dies. I think that's really silly. – ChaseC May 19 '14 at 16:55
Thank you so much for your response, Waterseas, and +1 indeed. That's what I supposed, but you confirmed it greatly. – Goblin May 19 '14 at 18:58
@Autar That makes sense, although honestly was a very counter-intuitive way of them designing the process. – Waterseas May 21 '14 at 14:10

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.