Arqade is a question and answer site for passionate videogamers on all platforms. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

In the third Rebel Flagship fight, if all my crew are on board the enemy ship when it gets destroyed, does the game count that as a win (Rebel ship is destroyed) or a loss (all your crew are dead)? Assume I do not have a Clone Bay.

share|improve this question
I can't confirm this, but I've heard that if you destroy yourself and the rebel ship at the same time, it still counts as a win. I'd imagine the same rules apply here. – Colonel Thirty Two May 19 '14 at 17:18
@ColonelThirtyTwo Actually I've destroyed the rebel ship just as I was destroyed myself, and it counted as a loss. – BlueRaja - Danny Pflughoeft May 19 '14 at 18:05
I've... never encountered this exact situation, but I can confirm that if the flagship starts breaking apart at any point before the 'game over' message would otherwise be thrown, you are instead treated to a victory. But in each of those screenshots, my crew is still alive as their ship becomes debris, so I can't say for certain. – Trent Hawkins May 19 '14 at 18:07
up vote 16 down vote accepted

You win.

You would also unlock the "Trustworthy Auto-Pilot" achievement for "[defeating] an enemy ship with all of your crew aboard it."

From the FTL Wikia: "However, it is possible to get this achievement by destroying the final boss with all of your crew on board the enemy ship, resulting in a win with no crew."


share|improve this answer
You win. But at WHAT COST!? – coiax May 20 '14 at 12:30
They knew the risks when they signed up for this. – Doktoro Reichard May 20 '14 at 17:43
Finally got around to trying this (though I did have a depowered Clone Bay). It worked as described, including the Trustworthy Auto-Pilot achievement. The "Credits" screen still listed all of my crew as if they had survived, interestingly. – Ryan Cavanaugh Jul 3 '14 at 14:50
One last update -- did this without a Clone Bay. Still a victory, but this time the Credits screen listed an empty crew list (!). – Ryan Cavanaugh Jul 13 '14 at 6:31

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.