Arqade is a question and answer site for passionate videogamers on all platforms. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

According to chat:

Characters are divided into weight groups. Each character in a weight group has identical stats.

What are the different weight groups, and which characters are in each?

share|improve this question
up vote 14 down vote accepted

There are 30 playable characters in Mario Kart 8, consisting of 16 default characters and 14 unlockable characters. ...There are 3 weight classes dependent on the size of the kart the characters ride on (with the exception of Metal Mario and Pink Gold Peach): light, medium, and heavy.

Source: Mario Kart 8 - Mario Wiki


Speed 2.25 Acceleration 3.25 Weight 2.25 Handling 4.75 Traction 4.5

  • Baby Mario
  • Baby Luigi
  • Baby Peach
  • Baby Daisy
  • Baby Rosalina
  • Lemmy

Speed 2.75 Acceleration 3 Weight 2.75 Handling 4.25 Traction 4.25

  • Toad
  • Koopa Troopa
  • Shy Guy
  • Larry
  • Wendy
  • Lakitu
  • Toadette


Speed 3.25 Acceleration 2.75 Weight 3.25 Handling 3.75 Traction 4

  • Peach
  • Daisy
  • Yoshi

Speed 3.75 Acceleration 2.5 Weight 3.75 Handling 3.25 Traction 3.75

  • Iggy
  • Ludwig
  • Mario
  • Luigi


Speed 4.25 Acceleration 2.25 Weight 4.25 Handling 2.75 Traction 3.5

  • Donkey Kong
  • Waluigi
  • Rosalina
  • Roy

Speed 4.25 Acceleration 2 Weight 4.75 Handling 2.75 Traction 3.25

  • Metal Mario
  • Pink Gold Peach

Speed 4.75 Acceleration 2 Weight 4.75 Handling 2.25 Traction 3.25

  • Morton
  • Bowser
  • Wario

A complete list of weight classes, differences within the weight classes, karts and items can be found on the Mario Wiki.

share|improve this answer
Your answer is misleading, because it highlights the three "primary" weight groups, but as you can see in your link each weight group is really further broken up into lesser weight groups. For example, Koopa Troopa and Lemmy both fall under "Light", but are actually in two separate weight groups which have their own unique stats. You should really modify your answer to show these sub divisions within the "primary" weight groups. – Wipqozn Jun 2 '14 at 23:04
@Wipqozn Updated my answer to include the sub divisions. Better? – ChaseC Jun 3 '14 at 12:40
Yes, thank you. I've swapped my downvote to an upvote. – Wipqozn Jun 3 '14 at 15:32

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.