Take the 2-minute tour ×
Arqade is a question and answer site for passionate videogamers on all platforms. It's 100% free, no registration required.

A quick question regarding the Mage deck: suppose that I'm playing a deck based on Secrets. In a certain turn of the game, I have both Counterspell and Spellbender activated on my side.

enter image description here

Is there a rule to determine which one is triggered at first? My though is that the first that you played is the first which is going to be revealed, but I'm not sure about that.

As a pratical example, suppose that I'm playing against a Paladin, and I predict - due to the state of the game -, that (s)he's gonna buff a minion of his/her with a Blessing of Kings (+4/+4 at a minion). Can I foretaste a 5/8 on my side? Or the blessing will "just" vanish?

Thank you.

share|improve this question
2  
Couldn't both of these be activated? That is: the 1/3 is summoned as the new target, then the spell is countered, leaving the target intact. –  Boluc Papuccuoglu Jul 11 at 9:25
    
Thank you Boluc, I think you're right. ChaseC's answer seems confirming your thought. –  Andrea Jul 12 at 12:13

3 Answers 3

up vote 10 down vote accepted

They will trigger in the order with which they were played. If you played Counterspell first, it will trigger first and counter the spell without triggering Spellbender.

If you played Spellbender first, the spell would target a new minion but then be countered by Counterspell. So you'll end up with a 1/3 minion in your Blessing of Kings case.

share|improve this answer
    
Thank you ChaseC, I didn't think about the possibility of triggering both. –  Andrea Jul 12 at 12:12
2  
You're welcome! To clarify, the same thing happens with Hunters sometimes. They will play Misdirection and then Freezing Trap. So Misdirection is triggered and before my minion hits a different target, Freezing Trap is triggered and my minion goes back to my hand :) –  ChaseC Jul 14 at 12:30
    
Eh eh, I got it! :-D Thank you again! –  Andrea Jul 15 at 13:31

Actually, I had a game with a paladin where i placed SB out first, and then next turn I played Archmage antonidus with counterspell. The plan was to have SB take his bait out card, and then CS to nullify his equality so he couldn't concecrate AI away.

Sadly, CS activated first and took his bait out card, and then SB sat useless while he equality/concerate comboed me.

share|improve this answer
1  
That's because of the equality/consecrate spells themselves. There is no target minion on either one of those spells so spellbender would not trigger at all. Your Spellbender would only have worked on spells like Blessing of Kings/Might/Wisdom, Blessed Champion, and Humility as these spells all target a specific minion. –  Sorean Aug 2 at 20:49

I would have to disagree with the answer. First I played Counterspell. The next turn I played Spellbender. After that, my minion was target by 3 damage from shaman. Counterspell fired, leaving me with only Spellbender on board. The next turn I played another Counterspell. Shaman targeted my minion with Hex. Once again, Counterspell fired, leaving me with Spellbender on board.

I was pissed and had no explanation.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.