Arqade is a question and answer site for passionate videogamers on all platforms. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Suppose my opponent has a Spellbender secret and a minion with at least 5 attack. I cast Shadow Word: Death on the big minion. Spellbender is supposed to summon a 1/3 minion as the new target, but Shadow Word: Death can only target a minion with 5 or more attack.

Does the new minion get destroyed, does the spell fail, or does something else entirely happen?

share|improve this question
up vote 12 down vote accepted

The secret will trigger and the 1/3 will die.

Generally any spell cast on a minion will trigger the secret and affect the 1/3 regardless of whether or not the 1/3 could usually be targeted by that spell. So things like execute (which normally only affects damaged minions) or bestial wrath (which normally only affects beasts) would also affect the 1/3.

share|improve this answer
That makes sense, intuitively. The limitations on Shadow Words / Execute / etc. are targeting restrictions. The effect is the same (kill the target), so if a Spellbinder grabs it, the targeting restriction is sidestepped, and they die. – Raven Dreamer Jul 15 '14 at 3:36

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.