Take the 2-minute tour ×
Arqade is a question and answer site for passionate videogamers on all platforms. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I am currently running a Minecraft server, and when I leave and rejoin to check if my stuff is still there, it is.

What happens when I close the server? Does it matter if I just use the x button on the window? Is anything lost or does it save before closing?

share|improve this question
6  
You should probably shut down the server properly with /stop, but I don't know what blows up if you don't. –  Shinrai Apr 12 '11 at 2:16
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 23 down vote accepted

Everything will be saved and shut down when you close your Minecraft server with the X button - nothing will be lost. If you want to feel extra safe, however, simply type stop into the command bar (or /stop into the chat window) to bring it to a graceful halt.

share|improve this answer
7  
You could even use the save-all command before stop to force a full save of game data. –  astryad Apr 12 '11 at 9:52
    
I have had issues with closing it without typing in stop. –  AttackingHobo Apr 13 '11 at 4:35
9  
@AttackingHobo could you elaborate? –  Keaanu Apr 13 '11 at 13:36
add comment

protected by Community Apr 1 '13 at 12:25

Thank you for your interest in this question. Because it has attracted low-quality answers, posting an answer now requires 10 reputation on this site.

Would you like to answer one of these unanswered questions instead?

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.