Take the 2-minute tour ×
Arqade is a question and answer site for passionate videogamers on all platforms. It's 100% free, no registration required.

When pausing Minecraft, it claims to be "saving level". What does that mean? Does it have the same effect as quitting and starting again?

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 5 down vote accepted

Minecraft saves all of your block placements, inventory status, player placement, and all other level data when you pause or close the game.

The only time it might not properly save is when the game crashes and closes forcibly. Some of your work might not get saved, and there may be some discrepancies in your inventory items.

share|improve this answer
    
So what happens during the pause is the same things that happen when I quit the game? –  user7220 Apr 26 '11 at 20:25
4  
Essentially, yes. –  Andrew Lambert Apr 26 '11 at 20:31
3  
It might be noted that this only applies to Singleplayer, in Multiplayer you should be fine if the client crashes (as long as the server does not crash). –  Bobby Apr 26 '11 at 20:50

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.