Arqade is a question and answer site for passionate videogamers on all platforms. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

The Axii sign should allow Geralt to get one enemy to fight on his side for a short while. This sound extremely useful for fighting groups, but I was unable to get it to work so far.

What happens when I use it on an enemy is that he gets distracted for a second and some visual effect is visible on the enemy. But he doesn't attack other enemies and the whole thing lasts only a second or so.

Am I doing something wrong, or does the Axii sign just not work on many enemies?

share|improve this question
Are there levels associated with this in any way? Maybe it starts out with that and works up to "full control". Or were you using it on an immune opponent? – Matthew Read May 18 '11 at 21:40
The manual's description (see this answer) implies that there's only a chance for success. Try using it to see if it works eventually? – Raven Dreamer May 19 '11 at 3:20
also, you won't get any experience points from the kills of the controlled guy. – DrFish May 19 '11 at 9:05
up vote 9 down vote accepted

I've found that you have to charge the sign for it to work. Just hold Q until you see the Axii animation on the enemy finishing. If you stop before the sign is fully charged it just won't work.

share|improve this answer
That is the crucial point of the Axii sign. Also affecting is the range. There is still a probability of hexing an enemy. Not all attempts will succeed – DrFish May 19 '11 at 6:52
You can charge signs? Neato. – Raven Dreamer May 19 '11 at 15:55
@Raven I've only seen it for Axii yet, I'm not sure if holding the button makes any difference for the other signs. – Mad Scientist May 19 '11 at 15:56

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.