Arqade is a question and answer site for passionate videogamers on all platforms. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

The trophy for Worthy of Legend reads:

You completed Dungeon Siege III at the highest difficulty level.

Does this mean I have to start the game at Hardcore difficulty and never set it to an easier level? Or does it just mean I need to complete the final encounter at Hardcore difficulty, allowing me to play at Casual difficulty up to that point?

share|improve this question
It amazes me that they didn't simply restrain you from changing the difficulty mid-playthrough, if they're going to have achievements for it. I'm thinking of other games that have these kinds of achievements, they always restrain you from mid-playthrough difficulty changes. – Grace Note Jun 23 '11 at 20:14
@Grace Dragon Age allowed you to change your difficulty at will, and its DLC had difficulty level 'chieves, but they also specifically said which encounter you needed to beat at X difficulty in order to get it: "Defeated the Harvester on Hard difficulty" and such. There's a lot of stuff in DS3 that points to a severe lack of attention to detail, unfortunately. – user3389 Jun 23 '11 at 20:26
up vote 6 down vote accepted

You don't even have to play the rest of the game at all. So yes, all that matters is the difficulty level at the time of beating the last encounter.

share|improve this answer
Unless it requires that game to have always been on hardcore, that is. (Although I do doubt it.) – Ullallulloo Jun 23 '11 at 22:28

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.