Apparently the developers forgot to include a save command in the ps3 version, and as a result the game saves only when it feels like it.
This results in lots of potential for lost data (indeed the Internet is rife with stories of people losing hours of play and multiple levels).
Is there any method known behind what triggers the game to save? The red biohazard symbol seems linked, but I've had partial data loss following apparent saves (going by the red biohazard symbol) with some quest pickups (and exp and drops) saved, but others lost.
As an additional question, Can you save your in game location anywhere besides the quest hubs (I found myself at the life guard station after my last session, even though it had been over an hour of play time since I had been there last)?
Bonus points if someone can answer and provide information about whether a patch to fix this is planned.