Take the 2-minute tour ×
Arqade is a question and answer site for passionate videogamers on all platforms. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I'm part way through a game of Rage and if I go to Campaign->New Game now, I get the following warning:

enter image description here

Does this mean I will lose all my saved games for the current campaign or does it only apply to the current campaign progress and my ability to keep playing by choosing "Continue Campaign" from the menu?

share|improve this question
    
I would totally test this out, except if I'm not done with Rage by the time Arkham City comes out, it may not get played again until 2012. –  Doozer Blake Oct 10 '11 at 2:40

1 Answer 1

up vote 6 down vote accepted

The quick answer is no, you will not lose your saved games. What you will lose is your current auto-save, as can be seen by the following screenshot:

Dead autosave

You can see that while I am at the game's very beginning, which is where the current autosave is, I still have my saved games from a later stage.

When you choose "Continue Campaign" from the main menu, what the game does is load your auto-save. When I loaded one of my later saves and got to the point where the game auto-saved, continuing the campaign loaded that save, instead of putting me at the beginning (where I ended up until I did that).

share|improve this answer
    
So loading your older campaign and hitting the autosave point will effectively "switch you back" to that campaign? –  Anna Lear Oct 10 '11 at 6:09
    
@AnnaLear: Correct. –  Aubergine Oct 10 '11 at 6:11

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.