Take the 2-minute tour ×
Arqade is a question and answer site for passionate videogamers on all platforms. It's 100% free, no registration required.

The achievement specifically tied to Elizabeth (that's the English) is as follows:

Ruler of the Seas As Elizabeth, sink and destroy 357 enemy naval units, across any number of playthroughs.

So my question is: do embarked land units count as naval units towards this total?

share|improve this question
    
I think it does, because I got it and I don't remember sinking many actual ships. I just can't prove it. –  Mr Smooth Oct 22 '11 at 19:36
    
possible duplicate of gaming.stackexchange.com/q/11291/8366, including the part about counting land units. –  Dave DuPlantis Oct 25 '11 at 20:52
    
@DaveDuPlantis mm, not quite sure I see this as a duplicate. One's asking for tips on how you earn the achievement, the other's asking for how the game tracks the achievement progress. –  Mana Oct 26 '11 at 0:54
    
@Mana, I'm not sure that it's possible to write a good answer for this question that doesn't overlap with the existing one; wouldn't the answer to this question (asked as a comment on the linked Q) fit better as an aside on Oak's answer, such as "Don't forget, embarked land units (do/do not) count as naval units toward this total"? –  Dave DuPlantis Oct 26 '11 at 1:09
    
@DaveDuPlantis: Overlaps are okay. Just don't want duplicates. The other question is linked now; that will do. –  Mufasa Nov 11 '11 at 0:32

1 Answer 1

up vote 6 down vote accepted

After having a look at both rules and source code, I can conclude that embarked units are NOT considered naval units.

When a land unit is embarked it is unable to attack and unable to defend itself against any attacks. Any naval unit can destroy an embarked unit and will not even lose its remaining moves while doing so. Cities and ranged units can also easily destroy embarked land units by bombing them. In effect, embarked land units are considered to be non-military units.

Also, wonders and abilities given to naval units will not be applied to embarked units, and I have killed well over 350 embarked units with Elizabeth (love doing that) without getting this achievement.

share|improve this answer
1  
Civ 5 source code is finally available? –  bwarner Jan 9 '12 at 18:23
1  
No, not really, but it's available to certain groups (ie. game designers) –  Nils Munch Jan 9 '12 at 19:17

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.