Arqade is a question and answer site for passionate videogamers on all platforms. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

When dual wielding, is there any penalty to the offhand weapon, whether of damage or attack speed? What about a spell equipped on that slot? Or is the dragonborn ambidextrous?

share|improve this question
up vote 6 down vote accepted

The Dragonborn is ambidexterous, but refuses to wield a shield in their right hand. Magic and weapons can be used in any combination of Right / Left, Left / Right, etc.

The Dual-Wield "penalty" as it were, is that you cannot block when dual-wielding. (Even though you could normally block with a single weapon if your offhand is free.)

share|improve this answer
He / She also wont poison weapons that are in the left hand. – DeanMc Nov 14 '11 at 18:47
@DeanMc that can be worked around, though, since you can poison a weapon, sheath it, equip another weapon, and poison that. It's not optimal, but it is an option. – Raven Dreamer Nov 14 '11 at 20:50

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.