Take the 2-minute tour ×
Arqade is a question and answer site for passionate videogamers on all platforms. It's 100% free, no registration required.

If I stumble across a dungeon and clear it out, will this prevent any possible quests to that location? Or will the activation of a quest repopulate the dungeon?

share|improve this question
add comment

3 Answers

up vote 10 down vote accepted

From my experience so far, either certain areas of the dungeon will be inaccessible until you accept the quest or you will be able to complete the quest as soon as it starts by way of having already obtained whatever the dungeon holds in store. So no, you won't prevent any possible quests to that location by clearing out dungeons.

As Dave notes, some quests require you to clear dungeons or kill bosses, in which case if you've already cleared the dungeon new enemies will spawn there that you have to kill.

share|improve this answer
1  
+1 I found a cave the other day with no (obvious) way of bypassing a gate after clearing several rooms before it. –  theorise Nov 14 '11 at 15:28
11  
Oh, you mean this old thing? hands quest item found in depth of dungeon -> quest finished in 2 seconds. –  Konerak Nov 14 '11 at 15:47
2  
@Konerak Playing a thief character, this is the best feeling. –  Mana Nov 14 '11 at 16:04
    
@Konerak I laughed my ass off when that happened to me. –  Scott Chamberlain Nov 14 '11 at 16:28
4  
There is a third possibility: You can also get "clear the dungeon"/"kill the boss" quests for dungeons you've already visited, in which case some new enemies will spawn there for you to go back and kill. –  Dave Sherohman Nov 29 '11 at 15:05
show 1 more comment

there are some areas where you can clear the entire dungeon. When you get a quest to go there, if the quest doesn't involve getting something you may have already gotten, it will repopulate the dungeon, most of the time with enemies scaled to your level

share|improve this answer
add comment

Some quests will pick from multiple dungeons as well. In this case, if one is cleared already, it will pick a different one

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.