Take the 2-minute tour ×
Arqade is a question and answer site for passionate videogamers on all platforms. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I play a breton so have some magical resistance. I gather that this resists all magic. So if I have 25% magic resistance and 25% frost resistance, do I actually have 50% frost resistance?

share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 2 down vote accepted

The two effects stack multiplicatavely, not additively, up to a maximum of 80%.

To use your example, you'd end up with 32% resistance.

share|improve this answer
    
Cheers, what is the formula? –  DeanMc Nov 19 '11 at 20:52
    
@DeanMc multiplicative means Damage Input * (1-Resist Element%) = 1st aggregate. 1st aggregate * (1-Resist Magic%) = final result. Because they're being multiplied, the order is irrelevant, and they'll both return the same diminished result. –  Raven Dreamer Nov 19 '11 at 21:01
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.