Take the 2-minute tour ×
Arqade is a question and answer site for passionate videogamers on all platforms. It's 100% free, no registration required.

This question explained how it works, but didn't mention anything about staves. Are staves considered enchanted weapons or do they work differently because they cast a spell rather than causing direct damage?

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 7 down vote accepted

No, Soul Siphon doesn't work with staves.

Funny enough, using a staff is, for most purposes, "casting a spell" according to the game, except the mana comes from the staff's charge pool instead of your mana pool. Cost reduction effects on you reduce the cost of using staves from that relevant school.

share|improve this answer
    
As does your skill in the relevant school of magic! Staves are essentially a Magicka saving tool for mages. –  LessPop_MoreFizz Dec 8 '11 at 22:15
    
that's very interesting... I'm out of votes today I'll pick tick your answer after the reset. –  z ' Dec 8 '11 at 22:17
2  
So this means attacking with a staff raises your destruction skill? (or other relevant school) –  Raven Dreamer Dec 8 '11 at 22:33
    
@Raven interesting question, could be worth investigating –  z ' Dec 8 '11 at 22:40

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.