Arqade is a question and answer site for passionate videogamers on all platforms. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Once you complete the game you are given stars that are located on your file. You acquire different stars for different goals that you accomplish, up to 5. My question lies with the glowing or shiny stars, I know that if you don't die over 5 times in a single level then your accomplishment stars will all glow. What I was wondering was if you've already received the glow effect are you immune to the 5 death rule from then on while trying to accomplish the other goals? Or will the glow disappear?

I'm sure you know what I'm referencing but in case you don't:

enter image description here

share|improve this question
up vote 2 down vote accepted

My understanding is you're immune from the point at which you see the credits roll for the first time. All of the bonus content is much harder, and in those stages, five or more deaths ceases to trigger the game's assist features.

I've 100% completed the game with glowy stars intact, by the way. My worst playthrough of a level after the main game was around 50 deaths. Oh, how I wish that were hyperbole.

(As spoiler-free as I can make this.)

share|improve this answer
Thank you very much! I am let say.. 90% done and i've simply gotten into the habit of hitting the home button if i die. I didn't want to risk losing my special little stars. – stay Dec 20 '11 at 4:24
No problem. This advice is corroborated from a few sources I'd read while working through the game, including here:… and, now, here:, which also points out that deaths on levels you'd previously completed don't count. – MrGomez Dec 20 '11 at 6:29
Nicely done Gomez, mucho help. – stay Dec 20 '11 at 6:56

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.