Take the 2-minute tour ×
Arqade is a question and answer site for passionate videogamers on all platforms. It's 100% free, no registration required.

While in a Flashpoint, all group members make decisions in a conversation, then the game chooses one of the responses.

However, in my experience, this is not a random choice (or I have tremendously bad luck). How does the game decide which response is chosen?

share|improve this question
add comment

2 Answers

up vote 11 down vote accepted

It looks like you've just been unlucky.

There is a group roll and the player who wins the roll says the dialogue option they chose. Everyone hears that player’s choice and the deal with the consequences of that choice.

This can lead to some interesting conversation dynamics if the leader is in the minority.

One important detail to note is that Light side and Dark side points are not awarded to the group for the choice depicted, but for each player individually according to the choice they made individually.

Source: Interview with developers

This matches what the Developers said when they walked through one of the first flashpoints - The Esseles.

Finally, the 1.1 patch notes allude that the game tries to "normalize" conversation rolls to make sure who "wins" each roll is approximately equal.

Players who spectated conversations no longer unleash an initial massive critical social roll in their next multiplayer conversation.

The above quote would seem to indicate that not getting to speak in one social roll gives a boost in your next social roll, resetting when you finally get a chance to speak.

share|improve this answer
5  
Would also like to point out that Light or Dark Side points are awarded on your intentions... not on the choice of the one who speaks on behalf of the group. –  Fredy31 Dec 17 '11 at 17:41
    
Ah, yes, good point. –  Raven Dreamer Dec 17 '11 at 17:41
    
I asked this question, because the only Flashpoint I was in had upwards of 40 conversation choices in it, and the only one where my response was selected was the destination at the end (which, being after the last boss is defeated, has no bearing on the story). –  user2974 Dec 17 '11 at 17:45
    
@Powerlord Random is random, I guess. Got another source that says the same thing. Editing it in now. –  Raven Dreamer Dec 17 '11 at 17:52
1  
Supposedly every time you don't get a say adds a bonus to the next roll. It's still entirely possible to get through a very long conversation without getting a single word in edgewise, but they've done their best to make it unlikely. –  Shadur Dec 21 '11 at 8:15
show 2 more comments

Numerically, each person rolls a d100 (random number between 1 and 100), with a bonus of 20 for each time you lose. The highest wins.

E.g., d100 the first time you get asked, d100+20 if you failed that, then d100+40 the next ... reseting back to d100 after you win one. (Logically, this makes it impossible to lose six times in a row when traveling with a single person).

You get twice as many social points when you win, as well as the opportunity to decide what actually happens in a quest if hitting an actual decision point.

I haven't worked out what happens with a tie; I've seen them happen and one person wins, but I can't judge why. I'll assume a hidden internal coin-flip, or possibly it picks whoever has lost more at that point.

share|improve this answer
    
From what I have seen ties are settled by who ever picked their option first. –  steve.lippert Jan 12 '13 at 1:33
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.