Arqade is a question and answer site for passionate videogamers on all platforms. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I understand that there is the possibility of the Stormcloaks capturing a hold, or city, such as Whiterun. Is it possible to be both the Thane of a Imperial controlled hold and a Stormcloak Hold, if you are allied with neither faction?

share|improve this question
Interestingly, I was named Thane in Whiterun both under Imperial and Stormcloak rule. As a result, I know have both the Axe and Sword of Whiterun hanging in one of my weapons racks. – Iszi Dec 24 '11 at 3:22
up vote 13 down vote accepted


The only Hold which you cannot become thane of without choosing sides in the Civil War is Windhelm. You must resolve the Civil War, one way or the other, to be named Thane in Eastmarch.

Other than that, you can become Thane of any hold by doing other quests, unrelated to the Civil War, or by advancing the Civil War to a point where control of the hold in question changes hands, at which point, you will be offered Thaneship automatically.

share|improve this answer
Once the war ends, its a different matter. Go to all holds where you were Thane and depending which Jarl was removed from his Jarlship then re-become Thane again by talking to the new Jarl. – ヴァイシャリ Oct 18 '12 at 16:34

Yes, you can become Thane of a Stormcloak hold and a Imperial hold, Ex: You can be Thane of Falkreath (Imperial hold) and Thane of Dawnstar (Stormcloak hold) just by doing favors for the people and buying a house or piece of land if you have Hearthfire DLC.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.