Arqade is a question and answer site for passionate videogamers on all platforms. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

The Elder Scrolls has always had an unusual calendar. Can someone translate the days of the week and month names? Actually, a thorough explanation of the calendar would be useful.

share|improve this question
up vote 25 down vote accepted

The Tamrielic calender is simply a Gregorian calender with different names, and without leap years.

From the UESP:

enter image description here

enter image description here

Midyear, Hearthfire, and Frostfall are not consistent even within the games, alternating between references as a single compound word (i.e., Frostfall), and a pair of words (i.e., Frost Fall).

Furthermore, Hearthfire is referred to as Heartfire in Skyrim, despite some lore books continuing to list it as Hearthfire. (The last time it was referred to as Heartfire was in TES:Arena, so it's possible this is a regional dialect)

share|improve this answer
You beat me to it, and formatted it nicer. =( You win. lol – Fluttershy Dec 24 '11 at 4:06
Interesting! I had it stuck in my head that all Tamrielic months had thirty days. Presumably, that means I last paid attention to the calendar in Daggerfall. ^.^ – Ben Blank Dec 24 '11 at 8:25
Do you have to be British to find Turdas funny? – fredley Jan 18 '12 at 11:03
This is good info. But what do all the eras mean? I seldom read the in-game books in their entirety. For instance I think 3rd era is Oblivion (never played) and the events. Once Oblivion ends then is it Skyrim era? – ヴァイシャリ Feb 20 '12 at 13:37
@desaivv Correct. The death of the Septim bloodline at the end of the oblivion crises marks the dawning of the 4th era. – Raven Dreamer Feb 20 '12 at 13:57

According to the UESPWiki.


  • Sundas = Sunday
  • Morndas = Monday
  • Tirdas = Tuesday
  • Middas = Wednesday
  • Turdas = Thursday
  • Fredas = Friday
  • Loredas = Saturday


  • Morning Star = January
  • Sun's Dawn = February
  • First Seed = March
  • Rain's Hand = April
  • Second Seed = May
  • Mid Year = June
  • Sun's Height = July
  • Last Seed = August
  • Hearthfire = September
  • Frostfall = October
  • Sun's Dusk = November
  • Evening Star = December
share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.