Arqade is a question and answer site for passionate videogamers on all platforms. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Is there a way to know whether an item will be enchanted or cursed by an anvil of Krong?

At first it happened to me when I used the same item on three different anvils. Recently it has also happened on the second anvil. Is there a rule for this? Or is it just random chance whenever you use it?

share|improve this question
up vote 6 down vote accepted

No, it's not tied to the number of times you've used a particular item on the anvil. There's a random chance each time you drop an item, regardless of what happened to that item previously. I've had things cursed the first time I've dropped them, for instance.

The Dredmor wiki says that it's 2/7 chance of a curse, and a 5/7 chance of a blessing.

I'm always torn between using a really good item on it, in the hopes that it gets better, or using a kind of "meh" item in the hopes that it either becomes good or destroying it won't matter. Frequently what I'll do is try to use something that I have a duplicate of, or at least a backup for that slot. That way if it gets better, it's a win, and if it gets worse, oh well, I've got a backup.

share|improve this answer
The wiki states: "This does not apply to the character's first use of an Anvil of Krong, which will never result in a curse." and so far my interpretation is that normal quality items cannot be cursed. ie. you cannot curse a normal item, but you can curse an item which is not normal. – Lemmings19 May 3 '13 at 3:04
Nevermind, I just got a curse on a normal quality item on the first go. I'm not really sure if the section I quoted above really holds any merit. – Lemmings19 May 3 '13 at 3:15

I'd take "This does not apply to the character's first use of an Anvil of Krong, which will never result in a curse." to mean the first time a new character uses any anvil, not each anvil. So the very first time you use any anvil, you're safe. After that, there's a risk of cursing

share|improve this answer
The comments on the other answer state that you can get cursed items, even on first usage. – Frank May 17 '13 at 20:26

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.