Arqade is a question and answer site for passionate videogamers on all platforms. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

The lists for Final Fantasy Tactics I've found online are wrong or, at least, appear to be. I don't know if they changed the way some of the later classes are unlocked since the PSP version, but I've been trying to unlock Samurai and both prerequisite classes and their level haven't worked (I have both Knight and Monk at level 8).

Could anyone let me know how to unlock the Samurai class or even better, give me a list of all classes and prerequisite levels to unlock them that actually works on the iOS version?

share|improve this question
Wow, FFT, blast from the past. Samurai also requires Dragoon to be Level 2. I would check out (…) I have a feeling this is correct, but I can't personally confirm it, so I'm leaving this as a comment instead of answer. – CptSupermrkt Jan 21 '12 at 13:54
Ah yes, it all makes sense now. You need knight level 4, monk level 6 and dragoon level 2. Thanks. I've checked the diagram and it all makes sense. – Keith_Vap0ur Jan 21 '12 at 20:20
In that case I'm gonna post it as an answer. Feel free to ignore it if someone posts something better :) – CptSupermrkt Jan 22 '12 at 8:11
You also need samurai level 8 to unlock the dark knight job – Programmer99 Jan 26 at 13:18

Base classes (no requirement)

Chemist track

  • Arithmetician — Black Mage 5, Mystic 4, Time Mage 4, White Mage 5
  • Bard — Orator 5, Summoner 5, Male charater

Squire track

  • Ninja — Archer 4, Geomancer 2, Thief 5
  • Samurai — Dragoon 2, Knight 4, Monk 5
  • Dancer — Dragoon 5, Geomancer 5, Female character

Hybrid track

  • Dark Knight — Black Mage ★, Dragoon 8, Geomancer 8, Knight ★, Ninja 8, 20 kills1
  • Mime — Chemist 8, Dragoon 5, Geomancer 5, Orator 5, Squire 8, Summoner 5
  • Onion Knight — Chemist 6, Squire 6

Note 1: character must turn into a crystal to count as a kill.

share|improve this answer

This seems to be pretty accurate: FFT War of the Lions class level requirements chart

For Samurai specifically, it seems you need Dragoon to be Level 2 as well.

share|improve this answer

I saved this picture to my phone, its really useful and quick this way.

I saved this picture to my phone its really useful and quick

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.