Arqade is a question and answer site for passionate videogamers on all platforms. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

When considering creating a character with a high level of Sagecraft, I wanted to know what the potential gain was.

Clearly shards are used to create gems that can be added to equipment, but how does one go from collecting shards to gaining useful bonuses?

What kinds of shards exist? Are there different quality levels? What sorts of bonuses do they give? Can different types of shards be combined to create unusual gems (like cubing for a prismatic amulet in Diablo II)?

share|improve this question
up vote 6 down vote accepted

Shards effectively have quality levels. Instead of adding more ingredients like Alchemy and Blacksmithing, increasing one's Sagecrafting skill allows for the use of more advanced shards.

Sagecraft by the Numbers

Three quality levels:

  • Cloudy
  • Lambent
  • Pristine

Seven shard types:

  • Fire
  • Ice
  • Lightning
  • Magic
  • Physical
  • Poison
  • Protection

Four gem categories:

  • Weapon
  • Armor
  • Utility
  • Epic

Skill Progression

All characters can combine Cloudy Shards into gems innately. At level 2, you can combine Lambent Shards into gems. At level 6, you can use Pristine Shards.

Reaching level 3 in Sagecrafting lets you fuse identical shards into a higher tier, much like Diablo II's Horadric Cube, or Torchlight's Transmuter.

Reaching level 8 unlocks the epic gems recipe category.

Reaching Level 10 allows a master Sagecrafter to extract gems from equipment, with no harm to either gem or armament.

Every time you increase your Sagecrafting skill you also increase the chance of finding shards in the first place.

Gem Recipes

Like Alchemy, there are set combinations to create certain effects. Unlike Alchemy, you get a preview of the results of the transmutation before performing it, so you're never sagecrafting blindly.

There are 196 different combinations (7 shard types, 2 shards per gem, 4 categories), but there is some overlap; For instance, Fire + Protection and Ice + Protection both give + Physical Damage when used as a weapon gem.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.