Arqade is a question and answer site for passionate videogamers on all platforms. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I'm currently only level 8, but I've noticed that everywhere I go, the enemies seem to be fairly equal in strength. Adding to that the fact that the game was designed by Ken Rolston (of Morrowind and Oblivion fame), and it has me wondering if the enemies are scaling to my level.

Do the enemies in Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning scale to be fairly close/equal to your level?

share|improve this question
up vote 7 down vote accepted

From what I have read, the enemies do not scale exactly. Each region has a level range for example the first areas are probably like 1-7 or something. If you are in that region and you are over level 7 then the level of the enemies defaults to the highest. Vice verse if you go into an area where the enemies are all red (which will happen, and gives credit to this theory). Then they will default to their lowest level because you aren't close to matching them. I found this on gamefaqs that might also help you understand.

Unfourtunatley I cannot find anything from the game developers themselves to prove this 100% but I believe this is how it works.

However, the simple fact that you can enter regions that have red names (meaning they are too powerful for you) says that enemies can be a higher level which means they don't exactly scale in a 1:1 sense.

share|improve this answer
And you need to kill at least 1 red level enemy for an achievement. – CyberSkull Feb 11 '12 at 8:19

From what I have seen, I find that specific areas DO get harder, but they cap out at a certain level. I loved to go exploring, and I found myself in specific areas that were immensly difficult. I assume from experience it goesl ike this: One area does 1-7, another area might go 8-? and so forth.

share|improve this answer
How is this any different than what I said? – Emerica. Feb 14 '12 at 21:03

As far as I can work out, each level has a range, but the ranges are quite extensive (for example ive found that in Haxhi, all enemies are yellow, bar a couple of 'boss' characters who are orange, until you hit level 12, then they go gray). And because of the choice in where to go in the main quest (Plains of Erathell or Detyre), i'm guessing they're going to have ranges of like 18-30/35. So really, to actually be playing properly and have little chance of defeating enemies, its going to be quite hard. The only thing i can think of that does disrupt the level scaling are the larger enemies, just because of the amount of health they have, and the inabillity to block their attacks effectively at lower levels.

share|improve this answer

Despite others points, the levels are splitting hairs. At some points, enemies will appear grey and provide over 200 xp while other points an enemy will be yellow and provide 109 xp. They do scale based on area progression and NOT your current level. As the game goes on though, the swarms are a little larger and the enemies definitely become much tougher (on a harder difficulty) so I wouldn't worry about an "easy" game unless you overdo your character.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.