Arqade is a question and answer site for passionate videogamers on all platforms. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

According to the Evocations page on the wiki:

Anything which requires the evoke command (v) uses [Evocations], as does evoking (V) wands and using special abilities (a) granted by items.

Attacking units 2 squares away with a polearm like a spear or halberd is done by using e(v)oke. What exactly is affected by your Evocations skill when doing this kind of action?

share|improve this question
Good question. I don't think it does anything for polearms, but I would probably have to dive into the source code to confirm that for sure. – au revoir Apr 13 '12 at 23:16
Will update the wiki with this information. – Ids Jul 25 '12 at 15:55
up vote 5 down vote accepted

According to lines 162-164 in

// This chance should possibly depend on your skill with
// the weapon.
if (coinflip())
success = false;

successfuly evoking a reach weapon (branded or polearm) depends on luck alone. And if successful, it doesn't train evocation (pract = 0;), so I gues it's an exception to that wiki page. Lines 713-728:


    if (weapon_reach(item))
        if (_reaching_weapon_attack(item))
            pract    = 0;
            did_work = true;
            return (false);
        unevokable = true;
share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.