Take the 2-minute tour ×
Arqade is a question and answer site for passionate videogamers on all platforms. It's 100% free, no registration required.

When a player levels up in campaign mode, there is a dice roll (2d6) before you are allowed to choose skills and/or pick an attribute to increase. What is the purpose of that dice roll? What happens if I roll double 1s or double 6s?

share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 2 down vote accepted

Each skill is in one of five categories: Mutation, Strenght, General, Agility or Passing.
All of these categories are not available for every player type. And some may be accessable only if you roll any double (double 1s, double 2s, etc.) These go by player types, not team races, so these may vary within your players.
You'll see under each category either

  • Normal (always accessable)
  • Double (accesasble on doubles)
  • No (never accessable)

Also, if the total of the roll is high enough, you can in stead choose to raise one of the players attributes as follows

  • 10 or higher: Raise MA by 1
  • 11 or higher: Raise AG by 1
  • 12 (double 6s): Raise ST by 1

What ever the roll, you can only choose either one skill to gain or one attribute to raise.

For more information, see the Living Rulebook (page 40 deals with these rolls). The game follows these rules pretty faitfully, with some exceptions and Blitz mode spesific additions.

share|improve this answer
    
I've never played the board game, but so far the computer game is fascinating! –  z - Apr 19 '12 at 20:20
1  
@yx For most part, the game does its best to hide most of the rules and calculations behind its user interface (and this is a good thing). But ever so often you do find yourself wondering "Why does it work like that?" or "Why do I need a perfect roll for that pass/tackle/catch?". For those situations, I find myself going to the board game rulebook for explanations. It does that a lot better than the game ever does. –  DJ Pirtu Apr 19 '12 at 20:32
    
you hit the nail right on the head. That rulebook will come in handy –  z - Apr 19 '12 at 21:53
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.