Take the 2-minute tour ×
Arqade is a question and answer site for passionate videogamers on all platforms. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I'd pre-ordered Diablo III quite some time back and downloaded and ran the installer which then proceeded to download the full game.

However, today when I try to install Diablo III, it's redownloading the entire 8gb set of files. I've also downloaded the new installer, yet it proceeds to download the entire game.

What can I do to make the installer recognize that I've already downloaded the game?

share|improve this question

closed as too localized by kalina, Gnoupi, theorise, OrigamiRobot, FAE Jan 25 '13 at 11:41

This question is unlikely to help any future visitors; it is only relevant to a small geographic area, a specific moment in time, or an extraordinarily narrow situation that is not generally applicable to the worldwide audience of the internet. For help making this question more broadly applicable, visit the help center.If this question can be reworded to fit the rules in the help center, please edit the question.

1 Answer 1

up vote 5 down vote accepted

Blizzard had posted this post which mentions that the initial installers had a bug. The post mentions:

  • Obtain the new Diablo III digital downloader using the links below

  • Point the download save at the same directory as before. The folder in question is your main game data folder. If you have the game downloaded to D:\Games\Diablo-III-8370-enGB-Installer, please point the download to D:\Games\.

    Do not use the automatically generated folder containing the installation files (i.e. do not use the directory D:\Games\Diablo-III-8370-enGB-Installer as this is the one created by the downloader). If you chose the correct directory only 50MB will need to be downloaded to fix your install, otherwise you'll re-download the entire ~7.6GB

Also, it's absolutely imperative that you download the same language & region client that you used to download the game after pre-ordering.

In my case, I had downloaded the En-GB version of installer & game after pre-ordering. However, today while downloading the new installer, Blizzard offered me the US version of the installer & because of this mismatch, it was downloading the whole game again.

After grabbing the En-GB(aka EU) install client, it was able to detect my previous download.

share|improve this answer

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.