Take the 2-minute tour ×
Arqade is a question and answer site for passionate videogamers on all platforms. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I just disconnected and my quest seems to have been reset to a few minutes before where I currently was. However, it seems like I kept everything in my inventory that I found in meantime.

When exactly is the game automatically saved? And what kind of stuff usually goes lost when something happens without the game having saved?

Also, is there some way to save manually? Is the game saved when I log out?

share|improve this question
    
Did you disconnect from the singleplayer? >that's the punchline –  jco May 15 '12 at 12:20
add comment

1 Answer 1

up vote 17 down vote accepted

In terms of your inventory and such, there is no such thing as the game "saving", updates are instantly applied to the server, so it isn't possible to lose anything. In terms of quests, there are frequent "checkpoints" throughout the game (usually about every 5-10 minutes). Anytime you stop playing, you will resume the quest from your last checkpoint the next time you start again. There is no way to force a quest save other than reaching one of these points.

share|improve this answer
add comment

protected by Community May 18 '12 at 0:06

Thank you for your interest in this question. Because it has attracted low-quality answers, posting an answer now requires 10 reputation on this site.

Would you like to answer one of these unanswered questions instead?

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.