Arqade is a question and answer site for passionate videogamers on all platforms. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

If I'm crafting an item which says it will have 3 magical properties does a socket (or multiple sockets) count as one of those properties?

share|improve this question
up vote 9 down vote accepted

Yes, sockets count as one of the the +magical properties when crafting, Bashiok said:

Oh... and regardless of how many sockets you have, it only counts as a single affix. If an item rolls up 2 or 3 sockets, that still only accounts for a single affix spot on the item. ... Gem sockets, regardless of how many, only account for one of those 4 affixes

Check out this answer for how many sockets you might be able to get.

share|improve this answer

Yes. However, multiple sockets only count as one affix, so an item with multiple sockets can be quite a prize!

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.