Arqade is a question and answer site for passionate videogamers on all platforms. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Binding Flash's monk skill and runes could affect elite enemies in a different way. But which enemies are considered "elite"? All those colored? Bosses and mini-bosses are also part of this group?

share|improve this question
up vote 3 down vote accepted

As far as I have found, the best formal definition of this actually comes from your achievement log. If you look, there are achievements for killing X number of Elite monsters (either in coop or solo), and it defines them like this:

Elite Kills (5) – Kill 5 elite monsters (champions, rares or uniques).

As mentioned in the question you linked, champions are the blue-highlighted/named mobs, who come in packs and all have the same abilties. Rares are the yellow-highlighted/named mobs, who have non-rare mobs nearby with the "Minion" attribute (and may have some of the abilities that the champion has). Uniques are the purple-highlighted/named mobs, who will always appear in certain locations.

While bosses are not highlighted purple, their names are purple - they do fall into the category of uniques.

share|improve this answer
Some type of monsters are immune to blind/fear/confusion but the answer seems correct. – Drake May 25 '12 at 7:16

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.