Arqade is a question and answer site for passionate videogamers on all platforms. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Champion and Rare monsters have special abilities that enhance their difficulty. When I was playing on Normal difficulty, these mobs always had one special ability. On Nightmare, I've noticed that they always have two special abilities. Does this continue through all the difficulties? I've found some really nasty combinations of just two abilities, and I can imagine some horrific combinations of three, much less four of them.

share|improve this question
up vote 3 down vote accepted

Champion and Elite mobs gain an additional modifier for each difficulty tier (so 2 in Nightmare, 3 in Hell, and 4 in Inferno.)

Get ready to enjoy Molten Vortex Jailer Fast!

share|improve this answer
That's what I was afraid of. Oh this should be Fun... Looking forward to it! – Matthew Scharley May 24 '12 at 3:37
@Ashel Off topic: if you downvote a bad answer, you lose a point of reputation and then get to 1337 points. I'm just sayin' – Anto May 25 '12 at 9:46

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.