Arqade is a question and answer site for passionate videogamers on all platforms. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

In a very small number of playthroughs of Wrath of the Lamb, I have seen:

  • The Cellar (pre-Mom)
  • Necropolis (pre-Mom)
  • Utero (post-Mom)

What are all the new levels introduced in Wrath of the Lamb, and what's special about them (if anything)?

share|improve this question
up vote 2 down vote accepted

As idiot6663622 said, the levels and their alternates are:

  • Basement <-> Cellar
  • Caves <-> Catacombs
  • Depths <-> Necropolis
  • Womb <-> Utero
  • Sheol <-> Cathedral (though I personally do not consider these as alternates, seeing how you can choose which you end up in).

The only level that has something special about the level itself is the Cellar, which is littered with spiderwebs that slow you and your shots down (you can get rid of spider webs using bombs).

I haven't seen anything of that sort on any of the other alternate levels.

As a general rule of thumb, alternate levels are much more prone to contain alternate enemies, and are the only levels where the new bosses will appear (at least, as far as I've seen).

share|improve this answer

The floors and their alternates are as follows: Basement;cellar, Caves;catacombs, depths;necropolis, Womb;Utero, Sheol;Cathedral) you can choose between Sheol and the Cathedral.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.