Take the 2-minute tour ×
Arqade is a question and answer site for passionate videogamers on all platforms. It's 100% free, no registration required.

What happens to octopodes when they transmutate? Will their rings meld into their body?

The wiki article on dragon form says this:

All equipment except for rings and amulets meld into your body

So does that mean I will be able to keep my 8 rings on?

What about necromutation?

share|improve this question
7  
The title of this question is like surrealist poetry on the front page. –  LessPop_MoreFizz May 30 '12 at 17:18
1  
Agreed. This is the most awesome question title ever to grace gaming. –  fcrick May 30 '12 at 19:05
2  
Crawl, now that is a real game :D. –  Glen Wheeler May 31 '12 at 14:36
add comment

2 Answers 2

up vote 5 down vote accepted

The source code shows that any form that keeps mutations will allow all eight rings as well. Spider is a special case as it does not keep mutations but allows 8 rings.

The non mutation forms are lich, blade hands, statue form and beastly appendage as seen in the below code snippet constants. A separate piece of code takes each piece of equipment off depending on whether its a ring at ring locations 3-8 and whether it meets keep-mutation or spider form in which case it declines to remove the ring.

Reference:

bool form_keeps_mutations(transformation_type form)
{
    switch (form)
    {
    case TRAN_NONE:
    case TRAN_BLADE_HANDS:
    case TRAN_STATUE:
    case TRAN_LICH:
    case TRAN_APPENDAGE:
        return true;
...
}

Goes to removal code snippet:

    // Octopodes lose their extra ring slots (3--8) in forms that do not
    // have eight limbs.  Handled specially here because we do have to
    // distinguish between slots the same type.
    if (i >= EQ_RING_THREE && i <= EQ_RING_EIGHT
        **&& !(form_keeps_mutations(form) || form == TRAN_SPIDER))**
    {
        result.insert(eq);
    }
share|improve this answer
    
Thanks, this is the most correct and complete answer! I have played a few games with statue and lich octopodes and I can verify they kept all the rings. –  Pubby Dec 25 '12 at 2:08
add comment

As you would expect, you lose the extra rings when you transmute into a form that does not have 8 arms. That means the first two rings you have will remain equipped, but the other six will be unequipped.

According to the source code, Octopodes keep all eight rings only when they transmute into a spider (quelle surprise!).

share|improve this answer
1  
Great answer! For clarification, the lich only has 2 ring slots? (it's a human-like lich?) –  Pubby May 30 '12 at 20:22
    
Yes, that is correct. Liches are kind of "whatever you are"-like, in that you can continue to wear the armour and wield the weapons (except for holy weapons) you had prior to the transmutation. (I guess with the exception of the 8 tentacles vs two arms thing...) –  Jason Berkan May 30 '12 at 20:26
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.