Take the 2-minute tour ×
Arqade is a question and answer site for passionate videogamers on all platforms. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sorry in advance, this question could fall into 1 of 3 categories (server admin, gaming, or programming)

I'm working on a personal Minecraft server for my friends and I, I'm having the server back itself up on an interval, which requires the commands save-all and save-off to be called in succession before creating the backup file. (afterwards, save-on is called to put everything back to normal)

I'm monitoring the server's output/log to determine when the saving is off so I can create the backup. However, the server's response to my save-off command indicates it is ready, but when I go to make a backup, the world files are modified again, breaking my backup.

So far, my only solution is to add a delay between save-off and backup, but surely I'm either missing something or I can report this to Mojang so it can be handled a bit better. FWIW, I get the same behavior both on the latest stable version, as well as the latest snapshot.

Do save-off or save-all give any other sort of indication as to whether they are fully completed?

NOTICE I've created a bug-tracker issue with Mojang, we'll see what they have to say. :)

share|improve this question
    
How do you send those commands to the server? –  Bobby Jun 28 '12 at 18:41
    
I'm writing to stdin for the minecraft_server.jar process –  Dominic Barnes Jun 28 '12 at 20:01
    
Did you try the save-off, then save-all order? That's what I'm using (with a 10 sec delay between save-all and the tar call, good enough for me). –  Maerlyn Jun 28 '12 at 20:40
    
save-off first? Hmm, I'll give that a try! –  Dominic Barnes Jun 28 '12 at 21:20
    
Fantastic! Calling save-off before save-all was exactly what I needed to do! Please add this as an answer so I can give you some rep. :) –  Dominic Barnes Jun 28 '12 at 21:30
show 5 more comments

1 Answer

You should call save-off first, save-all afterwards. This makes sure the world gets completely saved, and no save will occur during the creation of you backup.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.