Take the 2-minute tour ×
Arqade is a question and answer site for passionate videogamers on all platforms. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I like The Secret World. I want to keep playing it. I just don't have time to right now because there are so many other games. I want to cancel my subscription so that I save money while I'm playing other games.

  • Can I continue to play until the end of the current subscription period I've paid for even after I cancel my account?
  • Can I resume my existing account if I decide to come back to the game, and keep the same characters and progress I made in the past?
share|improve this question
    
With every other MMO I've ever played the answer is Yes and Yes, with a time limit on the second yes in some (rare) cases. I don't see any reason that TSW would be different. –  LessPop_MoreFizz Jul 18 '12 at 20:04
    
@LessPop_MoreFizz That's what I suspected. If there's no sourced answer by tomorrow I'll contact support myself and get official answers. –  StrixVaria Jul 18 '12 at 20:05
    
I haven't seen any official documentation on this, but I have seen several games where the second 'Yes' is only good for a year or so. –  Shinrai Jul 18 '12 at 20:16
1  
Have you tried just going through the process and not finalizing it? Every pay to play MMO I have played lays out the cancellation rules during the process. –  Adanion Jul 18 '12 at 20:27
    
@Adanion I did that before I asked this question. No dice. –  StrixVaria Jul 18 '12 at 21:05
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 4 down vote accepted

Yes, you can play until your current subscription period ends after cancelling - what you're actually cancelling is only the automatic renewal of the subscription.

Your account and characters are very likely to be held for a long time, but there is no guarantee for this in the Terms of Service. However, it's very common in MMORPGs to keep accounts for years if not for the lifetime of a game as the only reason to ever expire them is to free up character names.

share|improve this answer
3  
I contacted customer support and they confirmed this. They did claim that they would never delete characters: You also have nothing to worry about regarding your characters and their progress as even if your account is cancelled, their progress will be saved! –  StrixVaria Jul 19 '12 at 2:25
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.