Take the 2-minute tour ×
Arqade is a question and answer site for passionate videogamers on all platforms. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Is there anyway to save a multi-player game so that we can return to it later? I cant seen an option, this was possible in Civ 4.

share|improve this question
add comment

3 Answers 3

up vote 5 down vote accepted

No, you can not manually save in multiplayer. You can however change your settings so that Civilization 5 autosaves your game every turn.

Now to see if I can find some links to support my answer...

EDIT: The Civilization 5 manual claims the that HOST can save, and if the host disconnects someone else is nominated host. Having never hosted, I can't confirm if this is possible. I believe every player can still autosave as usual.

When hosting a game, you can save your game’s progress and load it up at a later date, especially useful for long-running games which can span longer than a day. From within the Setup Multiplayer Game Screen, click the “Load Game” button to browse your list of saved games.

If for any reason you become disconnected while playing a Multiplayer game, the system will try to reconnect you automatically. If the host of a game leaves (for whatever reason), the game will attempt to migrate the host controls to a different player.

Next chance I get I will run a little experiment to confirm all this.

share|improve this answer
    
Of course you can save as host. I was actually surprised by this answer. –  Sentry Jan 12 at 0:25
add comment

There's no menu item for it, but you can bring up the save dialog by pressing Ctrl+S.

If you want to reload your save (which would make sense I suppose), you will need to dupe the game into thinking it's an autosave by moving it from the My Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 5\Saves\multi directory to the auto directory one level below that and prefixing the filename with "AutoSave_".

I'm sure this functionality will be included in a patch in the near future.

Alternatively, you can just rely on the actual autosaves which are created for every player.

share|improve this answer
add comment

yea, it autosaves every turn for you. Go to host game and then click the load button you'll see your last game's autosaves.

This is by default. you do not need to change any settings.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.