Take the 2-minute tour ×
Arqade is a question and answer site for passionate videogamers on all platforms. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I'm thinking on supporting Path of Exile to get a Beta testing key.

However I want to know whether the account/characters are being wiped after beta.

This is important to determine how much time I should invest on Beta.

share|improve this question
    
You should probably ask on their forums instead of here, as that's only place you are likely to get an answer. –  user4139 Dec 10 '12 at 13:00
add comment

closed as too localized by Shinrai, MBraedley, FAE, Alok, OrigamiRobot Jan 27 '13 at 15:07

This question is unlikely to help any future visitors; it is only relevant to a small geographic area, a specific moment in time, or an extraordinarily narrow situation that is not generally applicable to the worldwide audience of the internet. For help making this question more broadly applicable, visit the help center.If this question can be reworded to fit the rules in the help center, please edit the question.

2 Answers

up vote 6 down vote accepted

Already found the answer:

Although you're buying Beta access, your characters and items will still be wiped along with the rest of the Beta characters when we enter Open Beta. If we wipe characters or move them to a "Legacy League" for technical or balance reasons before Open Beta, your characters will be affected along with everyone else. Purchasing Beta access does not entitle you to any special treatment in game and you can still be muted or banned for inappropriate behaviour.

share|improve this answer
add comment

This is also shown in the launcher, clarifying the situation a little more:

As part of the process of entering Open Beta, we have wiped all characters and reverted them to level 1 so that their names are retained. All items have been destroyed apart from the Unique prize item "Demigod's Presence" and Kiwi pets. There will never be another character or item wipe.

From this, I believe that the wipe that recently happened during the transition into Open Beta will be the last wipe that is ever made. Those who played Closed Beta still get to keep their character names.

share|improve this answer
    
Last wipe = confirmed here. "All characters will be reverted to level 1 and moved to new Default and Hardcore leagues. Their items will be destroyed, other than Demigod's Presences and pets. This is the final wipe the game will ever have." (23 January 2013) –  Carson63000 Jan 27 '13 at 3:18
    
Awesome! I'm surprised the aren't doing another wipe after Open Beta but I'm not about to complain :D –  Sadly Not Feb 20 '13 at 22:40
add comment

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.