A series of CORPGs/MMORPGs developed by ArenaNet. It's notable for its lack of a subscription model as well as offering in depth PvE and PvP gameplay experiences.

Guild Wars (GW) is a fantasy game developed by ArenaNet and published by NCSoft. ArenaNet itself classifies the game as a Competitive Online Role Playing Game (CORPG), though it is most often described in popular media as a Massively Multiplayer Online Role Playing Game (MMORPG).

There are 3 stand-alone games in the GW series. You do not need to own the base GW game (Prophecies) in order to play the others, though you do need to own them if you want access to the professions that were added in those releases.

  • Guild Wars: Prophecies (2005)
  • Guild Wars: Factions (2006)
  • Guild Wars: Nightfall (2006)

There is one expansion pack which is dependent on ownership of at least one of the previously aforementioned games has been released:

  • Guild Wars: Eye of the North (GW:EN) (2007)

Guild Wars features robust PvE campaigns with various goals and achievements to acquire as well as a competitive PvP scene, featuring tournaments where guilds can win cash prizes.

Use this tag if you have questions about Guild Wars, such as:

In accordance with our FAQ, please refrain from asking subjective questions such as "Which game is the best?" or questions that ask for a list like "What build can I use for X?" as all answers can be considered equally valid and we do not support list questions here. However, questions about where you can find resources are allowed.

A sequel to Guild Wars, titled Guild Wars 2 was released on August 28th, 2012. Please make sure to tag your question with the proper game, and questions that apply to both games should be tagged with both tags.


history | excerpt history